Expert Registry

A big help to the Transition Coordinating Council and the overall transition effort. Thank you for taking the time to share your expertise. - President George W. Bush

Since 1997, the White House Transition Project has combined the efforts of talented scholars to smooth out the American presidential transition. They have assisted presidential campaigns, presidents-elect, and new administrations.

Having relied on a range of experts to produce its two institutional series, the White House Transition Project now makes available the registry of those experts.
Key on Contact information: home phone(h), cell phone(c), and office phone(o).

WHTP Resources include:
 

General Transition Information

      Special Topics

Institutional Memory
(specific office briefings)

 
Chief of Staff Charles Walcott
  cwalcott@vt.edu
  540.231.5491(o)
Staff Secretary Karen Hult
  khult@vt.edu
  540.231.5351(o)

Kathryn Dunn Tenpas
  tenpas@sas.upenn.edu
  301.661.0982(o)
Communications Martha Kumar Press Secretary Martha Kumar
Management & Administration Charles Walcott National Security Advisor John P. Burke
Counsel Karen Hult

Nancy Kassop
  kassopn@newpaltz.edu
  914.388.0337(c)
  845.257.3544(o)
  845.255.3027(h)
Personnel David E. Lewis
  david.lewis@vanderbilt.edu
  615.322.6228(o)

James Pfiffner
Public Liaison Joseph Pika
  jpika@UDel.Edu
  302.831.2793(o)
Legislative Affairs James Thurber
  thurber@american.edu
  202.885.6247(o)


Hoover To FDR transition


Transition Quote:

Even though you put a tremendous amount of thought and work into the transition, when you’re actually sitting there and understand the power is now in your hands, it’s an awesome sense of responsibility.

- Mark Siegel, WHTP interview

The people behind the project Phone numbers and addresses Related Projects